Seven Wonders of the Buddhist World

Travel with presenter Bettany Hughes as we take a historical tour through Seven Wonders of the Buddhist World.

By showcasing the history behind Buddhism and the Buddhist wonders, the fascinating documentary offers a unique insight into one of the most ancient belief systems still practised today.

Amongst the seven Buddhist wonders we’ll visit are:

Bodh Gaya, a holy buddhist village located in north-east India. The village harbours the famed Mahabodhi Temple dated to c. 250 BCE.

Boudhanath Stupa in Kathmandu, Nepal. It was founded as a holy site, a Stupa, to honor Tibetan Buddhist mythology. Bodanath dates to c. 590-604 CE.

The Temple of The Tooth in Sri Lanka, a Buddhist temple which houses the relic of the tooth of the Buddha. The Temple was completed c. 1595 CE.

Wat Pho Temple in Thailand. A Buddhist temple marvel which stood even before Bangkok was established as the capital. It was completed in the 16th century.

Angkor Wat, located in Cambodia. Standing tall as a temple complex in Cambodia and one of the largest religious monuments in the world, Angkor Wat is famed around the world. It was created by the Khmer Empire and was gradually turned into a Buddhist holy site towards the 12th century.

Giant Buddha (or Tian Tan Buddha) in Hong Kong. Completed in 1993, the statue is a 34m (112 feet) bronze statue which gathers a mass of Buddhist monks, as well as a flood of tourists, to its location.

Fo Guang Shan Hsi Lai Temple in Los Angeles, California. It was completed in 1988 and is one of the largest Buddhist temples in the Western Hemisphere. The name “Hsi Lai” means Coming West.

Seven Wonders of the Buddhist World
  • Info
  • Release date2011
  • Full runtime
  • Director(s)Faris Kermani
  • Production companyBBC