The Woman with 15 Personalities

This film follows Paula, a woman who has Dissociative Identity Disorder (D.I.D).

The documentary unravels Paula’s life and shows how she copes with her condition.

Dissociative Identity Disorde is a condition in which its victims have at least two distinct identities that express themselves and control their behavior.

In Paula’s case, she ranges between 15 different personalities. One of the alter egos is a 12-year-old basketball player, another is a 5-year-old girl named ‘Maria’ and a third is an angry lady named Melinda.

Common to all of the personalities, however, is how they share a common goal of protecting Paula from a childhood trauma.

As we dig into Paula’s mind with the help of a psychologist, we unravel the destructive nature of the trauma.

Paula was the victim of sexual abuse, setting in motion a series of events that caused a serious mental disorder. To Paula and the psychologist who examines her, it’s clear her alter egos are created as a coping mechanism to her trauma.

But is this psychological assessment true? Psychologists have a difficult time diagnosing D.I.D or even believing the disorder isn’t just a fragment itself of another mental disorder.

Like The Woman With 7 Personalities, The Woman with 15 Personalities tries to make sense of Dissociative Identity Disorder and lets the viewer decide what to believe.

The Woman with 15 Personalities
  • Info
  • Release date2010
  • Full runtime
  • Director(s)Jan Kimbrough
  • Production companyMagellanTV