Spirits of the Jaguar

Spirits of the Jaguar is a documentary series which takes a look at the Indigenous Central American civilizations – namely the great Maya, the Caribbean Taino and powerful Aztec – and the animals which influenced their culture and religion.

Episode 1: The Forging of a New World

Episode 1:

A look at the birth of the Latin America and Caribbean region, the evolution of the animals and plants and ultimately the first human settlers.

Episode 2: Forests of the Maya

Episode 1:

This episode gives a detailed look into the Mayan civilization, which dominated Mexico and Central America, and the animals which influenced their mythology; such as the jaguar.

Episode 3: Hunters of the Caribbean Sea

Episode 1:

The third episode takes a look at the Taino, an indigenous Caribbean civilization, the animals which played a role in their culture, and ultimately, their downfall at the guns of the Spanish.

Episode 4: The Fifth World of the Aztecs

Episode 1:

This final episode studies the rise and fall of the Aztecs, a powerful civilization which dominated Northern Mexico, and the animals which permeated their culture

Spirits of the Jaguar
  • Info
  • Release date1996
  • Full runtime
  • Director(s)Martin Hughes-Games, Paul Reddish
  • Production companyBBC Natural History